House Vote on Impeachment of DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas Fails

A move to impeach Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas fell short in the U.S. House on Tuesday. The resolution for Mayorkas’s impeachment failed to gain traction, with a narrow vote of 214-216 against taking up the impeachment proceedings.

Notably, four Republicans, namely California Rep. Tom McClintock, Colorado Rep. Ken Buck, Wisconsin Rep. Mike Gallagher, and Utah Rep. Blake Moore, voted against the resolution. The original impeachment resolution was introduced by Republican Georgia Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene.

Back in November, the House voted to refer articles of impeachment against Mayorkas to committee, but the legislation did not proceed to a full vote as eight Republicans sided with Democrats to refer the resolution to committee, resulting in a vote of 209-201. Despite this setback, Greene reintroduced the impeachment resolution in November.

This is an evolving story, and additional details will be provided as they emerge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *